Slotsvænget 3

5000 Odense C


What are Key Stages?


Key Stages refer to the sets of skills and knowledge a student is aiming to develop at a certain stage in their education. We document the learning process by using portfolios. In these portfolios, students place samples of their work throughout the year. Parents thus have an idea of classroom work, standards of achievement and how their child’s skills are developing. There are four Key Stages throughout our Primary 1 - Secondary 11 classes.


Brief Descriptions of the Key Stages

Key Stage 1 includes students at 5 to 7 years of age. The core subjects are Mathematics, English and Science. Students are expected to be able to read when they leave this Key Stage as well as be able to do basic addition and subtractions. Socially, students are expected to be able to listen to instructions and show some understanding for what a good buddy is in classroom work and in the playground.

Key Stage 2 is designed for students aged 8 to 10 years. The core subjects remain English, Mathematics and Science. Literacy skills now move towards reading for meaning and teaching students how to produce reports, recounts, instructions and stories in writing. Students are expected to be able to do short spoken presentations and explanations of their work. French is introduced in the final year of Key Stage 2. In Key Stages 1 and 2, students are taught by a primary school specialist.

In Key Stage 3 students aged 11-13 will now be taught by subject specialists. A head of each Key Stage will be in charge of the personal follow-up of our students. On the time table they will have English, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, French, Danish, Physical Education and Art. Students develop greater independence and ability for critical thinking at this stage. They are expected to develop their language to comply with the spoken and written demands of their individual subjects.

Key Stage 4 is the final stage of our secondary school programme. Students aged 14-16 choose ten subjects, from a range of subjects, which they then study for two years before sitting for their IGCSE exams (International General Certificate of Secondary Education). Students should now be equipped with the skills, independence and confidence to do well in upper secondary education. IGCSE subjects are taught by subject specialists. Teachers mentor groups of students in order to ensure the personal follow-up of each student.


Key Stages, Ages, and Grade Levels

Below you will find a comparative table of ages and grade levels of students at Odense International School, in the Danish school system, in the UK, Australia and USA. Please note that all placement decisions are determined in the weeks after a student's arrival and subjected to observation.


Key Stage Odense International School Danish School System United Kingdom Australia & USA

1st March start
for children 

who turn 5 years
by 1 September

1st March start
for children 

who turn 6 years
in that calendar year


Key Stage 1

Primary 1 (ages 5-6)

Primary 2 (ages 6-7)

Primary 3 (ages 7-8)

0. Klasse 

1. Klasse

2. Klasse

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3


Grade 1

Grade 2

Key Stage 2

Primary 4 (ages 8-9)

Primary 5 (ages 9-10)

Primary 6 (ages 10-11)

3. Klasse

4. Klasse

5. Klasse

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6

Grade 3

Grade 4

Grade 5

Key Stage 3

Secondary 7 (ages 11-12)

Secondary 8 (ages 12-13)

Secondary 9 (ages 13-14)

6. Klasse

7. Klasse

8. Klasse

Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

Grade 6

Grade 7
Grade 8

Key Stage 4
(IGCSE Programme)

Secondary 10 (ages 14-15)

Secondary 11 (ages 15-16)

9. Klasse

10. Klasse

Year 10

Year 11

Grade 9 

Grade 10